Truman Scholars

The Truman Scholarship is the premier graduate scholarship for aspiring public service leaders in the United States. The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Truman and the Presidential Memorial to Public Service. Each Truman Scholar receives up to $30,000 for graduate study along with leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Below are the UChicago scholarship recipients:

  • Bradford Lander, 1989
  • Laura Larsen, 1987
  • Elizabeth deGrazia, 1986
  • Scott Durchslag, 1985
  • Daniel Sakura, 1985
  • Kathleen Uradnik, 1984
  • Timothy Van Housen, 1983
  • David Eichenthal, 1982
  • Thomas Levergood, 1982
  • Robert Swain, 1980
  • Mark Angel, 1978