Turing Awards

The A.M. Turing Award is awarded annually by the Association for Computing Machinery for major contributions of lasting importance to computing. Often called the “Nobel Prize of computing,” it was first awarded in 1966. Below are the UChicago winners of the prize:

  • Robert W. Floyd (alum), 1978
  • Dana S. Scott (instructor), 1976
  • Herbert A. Simon (alum), 1975
  • Richard Hamming (alum), 1968