Gordon J. Laing Prize

The Gordon J. Laing Prize is awarded annually by the University of Chicago Press to the faculty author, editor or translator of a book published in the previous three years that brings the Press the greatest distinction.

  • André LaCocque & Paul Ricoeur, 1999
    Thinking Biblically: Exegetical and Hermeneutical Studies
  • Martin E. Marty, 1998
    Modern American Religion: In Three Volumes
  • Marshall Sahlins, 1997
    How “Natives” Think: About Captain Cook, For Example
  • W. J. T. Mitchell, 1996
    Picture Theory: Essays on Verbal and Visual Representation
  • Edward Laumann, Robert Michael, and Stuart Michaels, 1995
    The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States
  • David McNeill, 1994
    Hand and Mind: What Gestures Reveal About Thought
  • Gerald N. Rosenberg, 1993
    The Hollow Hope: Can Courts Bring About Social Change?
  • Jean Comaroff and John L. Comaroff, 1992
    On Revelation and Revolution, Volume 1: Christianity, Colonialism, and Consciousness in South Africa
  • Leszek Kolakowski, 1991
    Modernity on Endless Trial
  • Richard G. Klein, 1990
    The Human Career: Human Biological and Cultural Origins
  • S. Chandrasekhar, 1989
    Truth and Beauty
  • David Grene, 1988
    Herodotus: The History
  • Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, 1987
    The Founders’ Constitution. In Five Volumes
  • Mircea Eliade, 1986
    A History of Religious Ideas. In Three Volumes
  • Paul Ricoeur, 1985
    Time and Narrative. Volume 1
  • Richard Hellie, 1984
    Slavery in Russia, 1450–1725
  • Anthony C. Yu, 1983
    The Journey to the West. In Four Volumes
  • James M. Gustafson, 1982
    Ethics from a Theocentric Perspective, Volume 1: Theology and Ethics
  • Wayne C. Booth, 1981
    Critical Understanding: The Powers and Limits of Pluralism
  • Morris Janowitz, 1980
    The Last Half Century: Societal Change and Politics in America
  • Alan Gewirth, 1979
    Reason and Morality
  • Sewall Wright, 1978
    Evolution and the Genetics of Populations, Volume 3: Experimental Results and Evolutionary Deductions
  • Marshall Sahlins, 1977
    Culture and Practical Reason
  • Keith Michael Baker, 1976
    Condorcet: From Natural Philosophy to Social Mathematics
  • Eric W. Cochrane, 1975
    Florence in the Forgotten Centuries, 1527–1800: A History of Florence and the Florentines in the Age of the Grand Dukes
  • Stuart M. Tave, 1974
    Some Words of Jane Austen
  • Edward Shils, 1973
    The Intellectuals and the Powers
  • Edward Wasiolek, 1972
    The Notebooks of Dostoevsky. In Five Volumes
  • Herrlee G. Creel, 1971
    The Origins of Statecraft in China, Volume 1: The Western Chou Empire
  • Gerald D. Suttles, 1970
    The Social Order of the Slum: Ethnicity and Territory in the Inner City
  • Leonard B. Meyer, 1969
    Music, the Arts, and Ideas: Patterns and Prediction in Twentieth-Century Culture
  • Philip Foster, 1968
    Education and Social Change in Ghana
  • Donald F. Lach, 1967
    Asia in the Making of Europe, Volume 1, Books 1 and 2
  • A. Leo Oppenheim, 1966
    Ancient Mesopotamia: Portrait of a Dead Civilization
  • Tang Tsou, 1965
    America’s Failure in China 1941-1950
  • William H. McNeill, 1964
    The Rise of the West: A History of the Human Community
  • Bernard Weinberg, 1963
    A History of Literary Criticism in the Italian Renaissance